New York City FC Announce Roster Options for 2018

Thank You graphic 2017

Following the conclusion of the 2017 Major League Soccer season, New York City FC today announced roster options ahead of the 2018 season.

Five players have had their options exercised for the 2018 campaign – Kwame Awuah, Ronald Matarrita, Andre Rawls, Khiry Shelton and Ben Sweat will remain with the team.

RJ Allen, Frederic Brillant, Miguel Camargo, Shannon Gomez, Eirik Johansen, Mikey Lopez, Jefferson Mena, Sean Okoli, John StertzerAndraz Struna and Ethan White have not had their contract options exercised.

The following players already had guaranteed contracts for the 2018 season: Alexander Callens, Maxime ChanotJack Harrison, Yangel Herrera, Sean Johnson, Jonathan LewisTommy McNamaraMaxi Moralez, Alex Ring, James Sands, David Villa and Rodney Wallace.

Andrea Pirlo announced his retirement after a legendary career at the conclusion of the 2017 season.

New York City FC would like to thank all of the players departing the club at this time and thank each of them for their contributions.

2018 Roster (As It Stands)

Goalkeepers (2): Sean Johnson, Andre Rawls

Defenders (5): Alexander Callens, Maxime Chanot, Ronald Matarrita, James Sands, Ben Sweat

Midfielders (5): Kwame Awuah, Yangel Herrera, Tommy McNamara, Maxi Moralez, Alex Ring

Forwards (5): Jack Harrison, Jonathan Lewis, Khiry Shelton, David Villa, Rodney Wallace

For the City - Stories

Join us on our mission to empower NYC youth through soccer.