World Cup: Costa Rica Face Brazil in Russia

Mata Wallace CR

195 days to go…

Ronald Matarrita and Rodney Wallace have learned their FIFA World Cup fate.

Costa Rica have been drawn into Group E of the competition along with Brazil, Switzerland and Serbia.

Los Ticos will be hoping to at least match their 2014 achievements when they reached the quarter finals of the competition, emerging through a group containing England, Italy and Uruguay.

Costa Rica qualified for the tournament by finishing as runners-up in the CONCACAF Hexagonal Qualifiers.

Elsewhere, Spain face Portugal in Group B, Germany play Mexico in Group F and hosts Russia have been drawn with Saudi Arabia, Egypt and Uruguay in Group A.

Peru will take on France, Australia and Denmark in Group B.

READ:David Villa Named to MLS Best XI for 2017

Full Draw

Group A: Russia, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Uruguay

Group B: Portugal, Spain, Morocco, Iran

Group C: France, Australia, Peru, Denmark

Group D: Argentina, Iceland, Croatia, Nigeria

Group E: Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica, Serbia

Group F: Germany, Mexico, Sweden, Korea Republic

Group G: Belgium, Panama, England, Tunisia

Group H: Poland, Senegal, Colombia, Japan

The FIFA World Cup finals kick off on June 14, 2018, when Russia face Saudi Arabia in Moscow.

For the City - Stories

Join us on our mission to empower NYC youth through soccer.